Caritas Kenya
  • Caritas Kenya   Cell+254 727 802810        Tel:+254-020-444 3133/4/5        Mon-Fri:  8:00am-5:00pm

cropped-caritas-logo.jpgThe episcopate in Kenya is represented by the Kenya Conference of Catholic Bishops, KCCB), whose statutes were approved by the Holy See on December 7, 1976 as KEC, and revised statutes that were ratified by the Holy See on the 24th July, 2012 creating the KCCB. KCCB is the highest authority of the plenary session, attended by all the bishops of the diocese of law, emeritus, auxiliaries, the apostolic vicar, and the military chaplaincy. The assembly of bishops of Kenya accomplishes its mission through the General Secretariat (KCCB Secretariat) which, through the Episcopal Commissions, coordinates and implements the decisions of the plenary assembly, providing the appropriate technical support. Currently, the KCCB can count on 15 commissions and 2 sub (canon law and apostolate of the nomads). The KCCB is a member of the Association of Member Episcopal Conferences in Eastern Africa (AMECEA) and Symposium of Episcopal Conferences of Africa and Madagascar (SECAM).   

Caritas Kenya is the development and humanitarian arm of the Kenya Conference of Catholic Bishops (KCCB). It was established in 1973 as the Development and Social Services arm of the Kenya Episcopal Conference, now known as the KCCB. Caritas Kenya was later launched on November 2012. Through the 25 Catholic dioceses spread across the country, Caritas Kenya works closely with the most poor and vulnerable population in the urban and peri-urban, rural and marginalized Kenyan lands. The main challenges faced by Caritas Kenya, while working with the communities is rampant poverty, frequent disaster occurrences and climate change effects, lack of critical resources (water and food shortage), increasing inequalities and HIV/AIDS Pandemic (Caritas Kenya, 2016).